Tasmanian Oak & Victorian Ash: The Australian Hardwoods

Tasmanian Oak, Victorian Ash or Australian Oak are the general names for a group of eucalypt hardwood species grown primarily in Tasmania, Victoria and southern New South Wales.

Tasmanian Oak and Victorian Ash Hardwoods Overview

Tasmanian Oak and Victorian Ash come from two near identical eucalypt species, E. Delegantensis and E. Regnans. While there are some minor differences between the two types of timber that are listed below, there are a remarkable number of similarities, making them often interchangeable. Some of the common characteristics between Tasmanian Oak and Victorian Ash include:

  • Both hardwoods are characterised as being incredibly durable and resilient, as well as seamlessly adding warmth no matter the project.
  • Both are incredibly versatile, and can be used for a number of different applications, including flooring and panelling.
  • Both are easy to use and work with, stain well and produce a remarkable finish.

Tasmania Oak Applications

  • Flooring
  • Joinery including;
  • Window Frames
  • Door Frames
  • Furniture
  • Staircases
  • Panelling
  • Mouldings

The Difference between Tasmanian Oak and Victorian Ash hardwoods

Although they share many similarities, including species make up, there are some minor differences between Victorian ash and Tasmanian oak.

Tasmanian Oak

Tasmanian Oak can be one of E. Regans, E. Delegatensis & E. Obliqua (Mountain Ash, Alpine Ash & Messmate). This mix of hardwood species ranges from straw blonde to pale and dark pink through to chocolate blonde. The younger growth tends to be lighter in colour while the older trees can be darker across the spectrum. This is what gives Tasmanian Oak hardwood the larger variation in colour.

The climate in Tasmania and clean nature of the trees makes it preferable for Tasmanian Oak millers to focus majority of their cutting pattern on small section sizes such as 16mm & 25mm thick. These are generally suitable for small mouldings, flooring, lining and furniture. Some Tassie Oak mills will cut a little 38mm and even less 50mm.

Five Yards by Archier shows the Tasmanian oak colour range

Five Yards by Archier shows the Tasmanian oak colour range

Victorian Ash

GOODWOOD Victorian ash is either E. Regnans or E. Delegatensis (Mountain Ash and Alpine Ash). This mix of hardwood species ranges from straw to  pale blonde and straw pink. All of the GOODWOOD Victorian ash resource is regrowth which limits the variation in colour to a slight mix of colours – primarily in the straw colour range.

The Victorian climate allows effective drying of all thicknesses which is why Victorian Ash millers will focus on 38 & 50mm thick material with a smaller percentage of 19 & 25mm thick being produced. The thinner end sections are used for small mouldings, flooring, lining and furniture while 38 & 50mm is used in windows, stairs, doors, furniture, structural material and much more.

An image of Tas Oak

Five Yards by Archier shows the variation in Victorian ash colour

Both species are suitable for many of the same applications and are quite easily used in unison. The quality of species can depend on the timber mill, grading and their processes. If ever any doubt, contact your ASH representative or specify GOODWOOD Victorian Ash for your project.